Material, Non-Public Information? Why JPMorgan Does Not Care; And Why If You Are A Corporate Insider Client, Neither Should You

Tyler Durden's picture




 
0
Your rating: None
 

- advertisements -

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Sun, 10/04/2009 - 14:53 | 88309 buzzsaw99
buzzsaw99's picture

Stocks are for asshats.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:33 | 88334 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

True statement.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:09 | 88314 LoneStarHog
LoneStarHog's picture

The only true asset left to the common man that is not manipulated is the Green Tip!

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 19:54 | 88435 cmazur
cmazur's picture

True.  Don't forget 00.  Can't have enough of either.    

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 21:42 | 88493 LoneStarHog
LoneStarHog's picture

Yup!  I use the Winchester Military-Grade 00 Buckshot in a Mossberg "Door Buster" Tactical Cruiser in 12 ga.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:16 | 88322 Sqworl
Sqworl's picture

Hello...operator, yes I would like to speak to Mary Shapiro...I'm sorry, she is on a conference call with her superior Mr. Dimon, may I take a message???? 

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:17 | 88323 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

Wow. God help us.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:21 | 88324 deadhead
deadhead's picture

Thanks ZH....yet another nice piece exposing the underside of the dirty bellies slithering around cheat st.

how does that go again, Jamie Dimon?  Something like..."you're either in the club or out of it"?

 

 

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:26 | 88326 Project Mayhem
Project Mayhem's picture

Jamie?  Hi it's Lloyd.  Oh, you're in the middle of a coke binge?  Ah, my apologies.  Yes yes, I know, you are the king.  King of the world!  I'm calling because I want to know when we are going to pull the plug on these middle class American idiots. . .

 

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:39 | 88342 deadhead
deadhead's picture

<insert deflation whale pic here>

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 20:14 | 88446 Project Mayhem
Project Mayhem's picture

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 16:16 | 88358 Miles Kendig
Miles Kendig's picture

PM - I am sure you got this.  In case you missed it... Cheers.

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/166102.php

 

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 20:12 | 88444 Project Mayhem
Project Mayhem's picture

Thanks

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 03:27 | 88624 Hephasteus
Hephasteus's picture

Great pic!

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 21:25 | 88476 ilene
ilene's picture

Here's another one, by David Kirby who wrote Evidence of Harm.  I posted this at Phil's Stock World.   http://philsbackupsite.wordpress.com/2009/10/02/new-study-hepatitis-b-vaccine-triples-the-risk-of-autism-in-infant-

Eventually, I want to write more on the topic, there's a disconnect between what studies actually show and what the media claims - that it's proven that there's no association.  Many of the studies were done with MMR, which doesn't have thimerosal.  Also, studies finding no correlation are quite flawed in their design and methods. - Ilene

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 22:03 | 88497 long-shorty
long-shorty's picture

As a doctor, it was frustrating at times that patients had such odd beliefs about their health on the basis of personal experience or poorly-done studies. It was also frustrating that physicians often failed to see the limits of studies--this is why docs had so many women on HRT before the big multicenter RCT, or some docs tried to treat all of their diabetics down to a HgbA1C of 6.5 but didn't realize the side effects they were causing.

These debates can rage for a long time and people can stick to their position even when it is has no merit.

The nice thing against markets is that one can have whatever ideas one wants, and you don't have to do that many hundreds of trades before it becomes very plain whose ideas are working and whose ideas are wrong, if the goal is to make money. I think it is safe to say, Ilene, that you don't manage a fund, at least not one that charges performance based compensation.

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 06:48 | 88580 ilene
ilene's picture

long-shorty,

Here's another article which I moved up on my backup site for Phil's Favorites:  http://philsbackupsite.wordpress.com/2009/10/04/autism-vaccines-and-the-cdc/.   And no, I don't manage a fund.

 

Here's a few other articles for anyone curious:  http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/story/7395411/deadly_immunity,

http://www.boston.com/news/globe/editorial_opinion/oped/articles/2005/07/01/autism_mercury_and_politics/

 

 

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 03:34 | 88625 Hephasteus
Hephasteus's picture

Ya. They should stick to the best science. Have huge drug company develope a theory and then throw money at it till it get proved. I'll see you at the convention in Hawaii. We can discuss the merits of charging 100,000 dollars for procedures with .1 percent efficacy because expensive things are worth it while simultaneously berating intelligent people with 1 side of our hypocricy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNT8SMlqLJA

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 00:36 | 88571 Fish Gone Bad
Fish Gone Bad's picture

A friend of my family is a chiropractor.  She would go on and on and on about the evils of vaccines.  This is really hilarious considering chiropractors think they can cure disease by "cracking" people's backs.

Speaking of vaccinations, there appear to be two groups of swine flu people.  Those who do not want to get sick and those who think the vaccine will cause ______ (insert fear word). 

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 16:52 | 89199 TumblingDice
TumblingDice's picture

autoimmune desease

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 16:55 | 88370 TumblingDice
TumblingDice's picture

... phonecall is circa 2006

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:26 | 88327 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

amazing... actually unbelievable

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:30 | 88330 lizzy36
lizzy36's picture

Tyler, you do have a way with words.

Like any good addict I am lying poolside (after about 2 hours of sleep) reading ZH

Good thing jamie dimon is the man who saved wall street! And also obama's go to guy!

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:30 | 88331 Cistercian
Cistercian's picture

 Classic.Just when you thought the criminality could not be more obvious.

 

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:38 | 88339 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

The perfect legal defense against a charge of insider trading, "I follow Zero Hedge."

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:38 | 88341 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

http://www.stanford.edu/~alanj1/research.html

Stanford professor offers compelling evidence that 10b5-1 programs are actually a STRONGER signal than regular way sales because the insider has a plausible defense.

Exhibit A: CWTR. Chairman selling 250k/week. Gee, I wonder if he's going to allow anything bad to be said while that program is in effect. Sales/earnings miss as well as abrupt CEO resignation were quickly explained away. In 6 months, the stock will be $1. It's a borderline fraud and terrible business, but he's walking away with millions.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 20:18 | 88450 Assetman
Assetman's picture

Yeah, my colleagues think that 10b5-1 plans don't mean a thing in terms of selling.

If you are selling 50% of your outstanding shares at a 10% clip every week for 5 weeks, you better keep your head on a swivel if you own the stock.

Tyler does a great job of highlighting that insider selling really doesn't have much of an impediment.  You might want to play accordingly.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 23:30 | 88542 sensate
sensate's picture

This is exactly what Mozillo, and countless others, used before the meltdown. When pressed about their stock sales, they all cited their previously-entered agreement to sell. And one by one, their firms went down.

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 11:57 | 88905 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

Just this morning I dropped off a rent check to my landlord. I dated it September 30.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:52 | 88344 AN0NYM0US
AN0NYM0US's picture

From Nomi Prins

The Coming Bank Bust

http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2009-10-03/the-coming-big...

Nomi Prins is author of It Takes a Pillage: Behind the Bonuses, Bailouts, and Backroom Deals from Washington to Wall Street (Wiley, September 2009). Before becoming a journalist, she worked on Wall Street as a managing director at Goldman Sachs, and running the international analytics group at Bear Stearns in London.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 16:36 | 88364 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

Holy cow she is hot.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 17:48 | 88393 Sqworl
Sqworl's picture

To Big to Fail was borrowed from our Government and extended to new financial order.

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 05:07 | 88635 Rusty Shorts
Rusty Shorts's picture

 - nice Avatar.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:56 | 88345 Lionhead
Lionhead's picture

Yes, this expose will definitely increase the demand for stocks and propel the market ever higher in the distribution campaign to novice investors. I can see thru the eyes of the Prism quite clearly. My "trust" in the system has been restored after reading this.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 15:57 | 88347 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

The big loophole is that you can cancel your plan at any time, even based on insider information (since it means you didn't actually trade, so you didn't inside trade).

So plan to sell just before earnings, then cancel your plan once you see how things are going.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 16:05 | 88349 Miles Kendig
Miles Kendig's picture

How is that Blue Label and rail going down now Jamie?

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 16:48 | 88368 geopol
geopol's picture

Sixteen tons, what da ya get, another day older and deeper in debt, st. peter don't you call me cause I can't go...... I owe my soul to the bankers in tow...

DA DA DA DA DA DA DA DA!!!

 

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 23:20 | 88536 defender
defender's picture

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Joo90ZWrUkU

That song has always been one of my favorites.  History doesn't repeat itself, but it sure does rhyme some times.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 16:50 | 88369 AN0NYM0US
AN0NYM0US's picture

I am sure it is just me and my trusty old 80286 but I find that refreshing ZeroHedge.com is not as speedy as it used to be, the slowdown seems to correlate with bid.openex.net as it loads advertisements

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 17:34 | 88388 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

The rules should be changed so purchases/sales made by officers/majority shareholders of a company in any amount have to be reported electronically and IMMEDIATELY accessible to the public at the time the transaction takes place and not one day later.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 17:40 | 88390 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

Great article. Pulitzer worthy, honestly.

To no one in particular I say:

Problem is, the ship is sinking and this is the Titanic, we all know it and there's no way to stop it. Everything being done is window dressing and attempts to buy time to prepare.

Should we all go down? Is that the inspired solution?

Put aside your self serving vindictiveness that can't see past how everything only affects the messiah that is yourself for a minute and try to see the big picture.

Trickle down is not a concept, it is a reality.

$1,000,000 split among a million people does nothing, goes nowhere, is the very definition of inflation.

$1,000,000 to a single person creates jobs, creates movement, creates opportunity.

$1,000 to a 1,000; $10,000 to 100, they only dilute the effect.

If you can't see that, I can't help you.

Is it fair? Hell no.

Does it help you? It's hard to see but it does, it really does. Let the rich have their fun, how does it affect your daily quality of life? Just be happy you have the porcelain pot to piss in that you do, the success of one has a lot to do with the lot of the rest.

If you don't think your life can get any worse, just wait till this hits in earnest and then maybe you'll see how much worse it could have been if the rich squirrels had not salted up their nuts in advance thus leaving you something to suck on a year or so from now when the grasshoppers are all left on the roadside.

Look at your job, your employer, their actions they are taking leading up to this catastrophe. If they are selling everything, you'll likely continue to have a job. If they are sitting on their hands and crying foul and dishonest you'll likely be standing in a soup line before this all over and done with.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 17:57 | 88396 Hansel
Hansel's picture

-1000, blather

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 19:50 | 88431 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

-9000 everyman points
over 9000 elitist points

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 22:13 | 88504 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

I mainly read ZH and find most commenters to have interesting and valuable comments. You are an absolute idiot!

Mon, 10/05/2009 - 12:41 | 88932 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

Your entire argument is contingent on the assumption that money is a directly transferable store of value, which by such definition is the discriminating metric by which all value is measured. It is not and it holds only the power that you give it, willingly.

Can my life get worse? Of course. By that same argument do I need to consume endless piles of worthless shit just 'cause some rich guy told me it keeps my neighbors in work?

Hell no.

1,000,000 to a single person serves the implicit interest of that specific individual, and no one else. Even Nelson Mandela is not exempt from the self-serving affliction known as the human condition.

Opportunity is neither created nor destroyed. It merely changes form, and is subjected to the interpretation of the opportunistic.

"Trickle down" is a load of bull.

If you can't see that, I can't help you.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 17:58 | 88398 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

Tyler ....you are awesome....

Let´s clean it up already.....

...........................................

Where we need to go....

One day one wakes up to a true....first come....
first served exchange....

It is fully direct access electronic....

It is worldwide....all securities discover their
price on the new worldwide exchange....

No internal matching...

No dark pools....

No front running before public information....

All public information wiki based....

Margin is simplified....4:1...intraday or over night....

No account minimums....or maximums....

Size limitations per security....

All asset classes of all public securities are available....

There is no market fragmentation....

All transfers of name ownership pay the same nominal rate....no cost advantages regardless of size....

............................................

When one examines the current Worden software....and the BATS exchange....one knows that this possible today....

Just think of what is possible tomorrow....

...........................................

Let the current toxic assets go through public discovery....so that finally the problem can go through resolve....

All public products must go through public discovery....not the likes of BlackRock....GS or any of the majors....

Banks need to act like banks.....IB´s need to supply the exchanges with public names....

............................................

And finally the exchange traded securities should all trade universally tax free in the name of efficient capital....

............................................

TRUST is not going to happen....until the above happens....

.............................................

The alternative ...there is no other viable alternative....

If capitalism is going to be logical to the likes of a Chavez or other socialist mind....one has to provide good reason....

The fact is .....a truly nongameable exchange is one of the few ways wealth can be distributed....by merit....

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 18:50 | 88415 Anonymous
Anonymous's picture

Time to form the ZH Militia..............

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 20:31 | 88456 arnoldsimage
arnoldsimage's picture

i've imprinted zh on all my .556 and 7.62 rounds.

Sun, 10/04/2009 - 19:34 | 88425 geopol
geopol's picture

threeup_js('Business', '306103', '1'); document.write('Your request is being processed...');

Your request is being processed... Buffett: Ben Bernanke "The Ideal Person To Be Running The Fed"

Read more at: HPost

Ben Bernanke: The sub prime is contained.

 

 

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!