Preview Of Today's Washington Soap Opera

Tyler Durden's picture




 
0
Your rating: None
 

- advertisements -

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Wed, 04/06/2011 - 08:56 | 1140297 tek77blu
tek77blu's picture

4:00 - Cover gold and silver short positions.

5:00 - Go long as many ounces as possible.

Viva la bull market in gold and silver! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_oh5ke2Cf8

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 08:58 | 1140300 Sudden Debt
Sudden Debt's picture

JUST IMAGINE THAT GOVERNMENT WORKERS WOULDN'T BE WORKING!!

horor...

everybody would miss out on....

 

 

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:15 | 1140351 SheepDog-One
SheepDog-One's picture

The 'budget debate' farce comes down to bickering over what amounts to a few extra pencil erasers for the Pentagram, $30 billion, on the back of the gargantuan $3.6 trillion joke of a 'budget'? Just a damn clown show plain and simple.

Hell Bernanke prints and shreds more than this great budgetary hurdle amount in 2 or 3 days.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 10:35 | 1140693 Blotsky
Blotsky's picture

Haha... Right then.

$30,000,000,000 is 0.083% of $3.6,000,000,000,000

... what? Thats progress in the right direction... kinda? maybe?

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:47 | 1140422 G-R-U-N-T
G-R-U-N-T's picture

Opening April 15, 2011....

http://www.atlasshruggedpart1.com/atlas-shrugged-movie-voice-mail-franci...

http://www.atlasshruggedpart1.com/theaters#California

The movie that politicians, government employees, moochers, looters, parasites, and general unproductive money sucking leeches don't want you to see.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 10:15 | 1140557 SRV - ES339
SRV - ES339's picture

Yes, we must stop this at all cost... thank god the masses (and GOP members of congress) could never get through all those pages to learn "the truth!"

Ayn is a good read, but Utopia exists only in minds simple enough to believe in it.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 10:05 | 1140496 Ruffcut
Ruffcut's picture

Hoyer says "we need to be adults here."

I say "why start now!"

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:01 | 1140307 slow_roast
slow_roast's picture

If they'd just let the government shut down I think they'd realize they'll be at leat 70% more efficient with fewer fat people on Prozac doing God's work. 

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:02 | 1140316 Sudden Debt
Sudden Debt's picture

true, but just imagine that those people will be able to walk the streets in daylight if they don't have to report to their cubicles!

 

I'VE SEEN MOVIES ABOUT THAT!!!

 

48 HOURS, LIVING DEATH....

luckily they feed on brains so they'll starve in the first 24hours in the US, but what if there's a breakout to Europe?!!!!

 

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:11 | 1140341 SheepDog-One
SheepDog-One's picture

Then theyll starve in 8 hours.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:24 | 1140367 Sudden Debt
Sudden Debt's picture

I don't think indigestion will kill them that fast...

 

Most Americans are used to eating super sized remember....

 

And they can't die anymore from a hart attact while trying to catch the Europeans because they have much better cardio...

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:45 | 1140451 Arthor Bearing
Arthor Bearing's picture

I wanted to hurl insults at you but, I'm deeply embarassed to admit, you're entirely right about Americans. Particularly gov't workers (except for those dogmatic alphas who work in the agencies hunting down dissenters. Those people are tool-geniuses and are in pretty damned good shape!)

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:57 | 1140477 Sudden Debt
Sudden Debt's picture

I was just kidding. Our government "employees" are even worse.

- Monday I was at the post office, there was a line before me (3 people) AND THAT TOOK ALMOST 1 HOUR TO GET STAMPS!

- Last week I called the tax service about a question concerning expense that are work related: After 30 seconds: I don't know that sir, and hung up the phone.

- Also last week I had to renew 2 visas for my kids for a trip to the US. You can't imagine how many times I had to go there to get the paperwork in order. A stamp here, a stamp there and always in another building.

- A few months ago, I was scammed on a internet purchase and I wanted to put down a complain at the police office. I had to explain to those morons how consumer laws work in this country and it was like I had to explain to those morons what "THE INTERNET" actually was. Whenever you walk into a government building, it's like timetravelling to the 50's.

 

I realy have to prepare myself mentally whenever I need to go to a government office.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 10:50 | 1140820 Alienated Serf
Alienated Serf's picture

EUROSOCIALIST workers are the worst.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:58 | 1140483 gaoptimize
gaoptimize's picture

Regretably, it will probably be dysentery and resulting dehydration that will take the largest number.  I already grieve for the innocent children.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:22 | 1140379 Abitdodgie
Abitdodgie's picture

I hear Snooky is making a guest appearance .

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 08:59 | 1140308 Sudden Debt
Sudden Debt's picture

Nice to know that in 72hours, QE will be launched and the markets will go up again.

They'll handle "inflation" next time.

 

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:06 | 1140321 the not so migh...
the not so mighty maximiza's picture

+1

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:05 | 1140326 the not so migh...
the not so mighty maximiza's picture

+1

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:03 | 1140320 Zina
Zina's picture

Republicans: raise the debt ceiling above 100% of the GDP, and you are finished. Game Over for you. No re-election.

I'm waiting to see a replay of the 1995 shutdown...

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:05 | 1140327 Sudden Debt
Sudden Debt's picture

inflation will cause GDP to rise 200%, so they will be safe.

 

 

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:09 | 1140335 padhead57
padhead57's picture

it would only "shutdown" non-essential workers, everybody's been upgraded to "essential"

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:14 | 1140353 i-dog
i-dog's picture

It's all a carefully scripted show. They're not haggling over the depth of the cuts! ... those are meaningless unless they cut by 95%.

They are simply all queueing up for their slice of pork and this takes time to sort out between them all. Once those at the back of the queue have been given their slice, the leaders will announce a "compromise". Just as with TARP ... politics as usual.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 10:25 | 1140638 belsebub
belsebub's picture

So, that means that FED members can take a couple of days of.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:10 | 1140338 SheepDog-One
SheepDog-One's picture

They strain at a gnat and swallow a camel. Hypocrites all!

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:12 | 1140342 youngman
youngman's picture

I am listening to Bloomberg..it all about how the REPUBLICANS are shutting down the government....now I would think if I proposed a budget and you voted AGAINST it...that YOU would be shutting down the government...spin spin spin...we relly need a good Dictator at this point..politics is dead...they are fightin over 4 billion in a 1.6 TRILLION deficit....idiots...really .....idiots...

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:19 | 1140361 SheepDog-One
SheepDog-One's picture

Bloomberg used to be OK about 4 years ago, now more useless than CNBS. Bernanke prints and shreds more than double what the budget squable amount is daily.

Kolitnikov- 'The real US debt is $202 trillion' and it all rides on $4 billion? This all lowers IQ just looking at it I'm taking the day off.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 10:21 | 1140602 SRV - ES339
SRV - ES339's picture

I'm you're not intersted in the facts, but the original House budget was for $33B in cuts... the President has agreed to every dollar. Boner's Tea Party handlers keep sending him back for more... he has zero control and will surely go down as the most inept Speaker in history.

That's what you get when children are sent to Washington... the only game they know is "lets play to the base!"

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 18:27 | 1143069 StychoKiller
StychoKiller's picture

Dudley Do-Right will arrive in the niche of time, he always does! :>D

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:11 | 1140345 Zina
Zina's picture

Republicans: raise the debt ceiling above 100% of the GDP, and you are finished. Game Over for you. No re-election.

I'm waiting to see a replay of the 1995 shutdown...

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:45 | 1140448 SheepDog-One
SheepDog-One's picture

Guys like you crack me up caught up in this meaningless politics puppet show for dimwitted kids.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 10:27 | 1140639 Arseclown
Arseclown's picture

So what's the alternative?  The current corrupt morons?  This is like trying to find the best candidate between the village idiot and a farting walrus...actually, I would vote for a walrus if he were running...

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:12 | 1140348 Caviar Emptor
Caviar Emptor's picture

GOP using the budget to bargain for future tax cuts (extending the Bush tax cuts and getting a corporate tax moratorium)

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:22 | 1140374 r101958
r101958's picture

Let it shut down. Nothing of importance will stop running. It is interesting how all the MSM outlets are spouting how a government shutdown would be tantamount to Katrina for all of us. It is just another attempt to sell the belief that the people can absolutely not get along without the all knowing, all doing government.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 10:26 | 1140632 Broker NotBroke
Broker NotBroke's picture

Too bad this is fiction. If the government REALLY shut down we might have a free market for a little bit.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:25 | 1140386 r101958
r101958's picture

We need to get past this Repub vs Dem paradigm. We need to hold all of their feet to the fire and demand real cuts in spending not the meaningless crumbs they are throwing on the table currently. I'll post it again....perhaps for the 6th or 7th time and no less true than the first time I posted it a year ago:

"Current politics is best represented by a two headed dragon. Politicians pay lip service to opposing ideologies but both the Republican and Democratic parties are part of the same big government dragon body. The body is moving in one direction; bigger and more powerful government. More control over the electorate. Having the two parties serves a greater purpose though....it divides the populace (sheeple?) into two camps that are always at each others throat. I think this tactic is called divide and conquer. Until we wake up and get away from the 'Repubs this....' or 'Dems that....' blame game then we will be slowly boiled...just like the frog in the frying pan...all while the dragon stands by watching and laughing."

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:26 | 1140388 the not so migh...
the not so mighty maximiza's picture

Its all semantics.  The dying screams and death throws of a defective government/empire.  If it shuts down or stays open or if people do or don't get re elected,  the end result is the same.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:45 | 1140456 SheepDog-One
SheepDog-One's picture

The currency is destroyed, its game over. All this politics posturing just a sideshow to the crushing food and gas price hikes we'll soon see, pricing everyone but a few out.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:28 | 1140395 Saxxon
Saxxon's picture

Kabuki for the unwashed masses; never, ever happen.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:30 | 1140399 Eminence Front
Eminence Front's picture

One thing is for sure, the Congress will make sure paychecks are going out before they shut anything down.

DC needs to be entombed in concrete and we need to reboot the system cause this one is worste than Windows 2000.

 

If the Founding Fathers were alive today they'd either be leading the revolution or hoping on the next plane out of this festering boil we call the United States.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:38 | 1140407 Jay Gould Esq.
Jay Gould Esq.'s picture

Kabuki, with a strong basenote of farce.

Bawlin' John cannot handle a cozy interview accompaied by his wife, let alone stare down the steeled, street-forged Olympian eyes of The One. 

"Paulie Walnuts" Ryan will do the CNBC/MSNBC/Fox circuit ( the modern-day political eqivalent of the Vaudeville circuit ), and do the D.C. Two-Step, reiterating his shallow, evasive comments on Fox News Sunday the week before, extolling the audacity of Republican austerity: "At least we are now talking about how much to cut, and not how much to spend."

Advantage: Barry. Frankly, our caterwauling House Speaker is the GOP equivalent of Captain Edward John Smith. A pity, that the GOP majority may be but two election cycles in duration: these people were elected to the House majority and given control of the purse strings of Government to do just that -- control spending. Thus proving the unreconstructed Beltway spending addicts that they are, cannot help themselves. A majority is such a terrible thing to waste. 

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:33 | 1140414 f16hoser
f16hoser's picture

Bring the troops home. Everything else is rubbish.

 

 

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:35 | 1140419 the not so migh...
the not so mighty maximiza's picture

its very obvious wars are for profit and population thinning, but they are not to be won and finished.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:46 | 1140459 Sudden Debt
Sudden Debt's picture

WARS are like ARKADE games. There's always another level as long as you keep feeding the machine with coins.

 

 

 

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:45 | 1140455 nodoctor
nodoctor's picture

Remember, they don't play checkers, they play chess. This is all going to go according to plan and it will get the two main plyers - the USFG and the FRB - out of their untenable positions. They let the gubmit shutdown and then they let the markets fall in response. Maybe a 20% tank. Eerything goes down but especially PM and oil. This gives BB cover to announce QE++ in 30 days, since without it he would have to announce it against a backdrop of "green shoots", "a strong market", "declining unempoyment" - all the BS that is being reset everyday. After shutdown BB can say QE3 is a tough choice but the right choice since the shutdown affected the markets so much.

So I expect the last best BTFD within 30 days.

This is a controlled release of built up pressure, just like Fukushima.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 09:51 | 1140463 SilverBaron
SilverBaron's picture

Shut it all down!

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 11:22 | 1141031 ThisIsBob
ThisIsBob's picture

This government buys scotch for Pelosi's free plane, picks up the tab for Obamas' date nights, and, of course, drops some change on sundry military misadventures around the world.  Not to mention subsidies, grants, pure waste,  and on and on and on.

Shut it down. Screw them.  The whole damn lot.

Problem is the parlimentary whores probably can't go a week or so without a paycheck.

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 12:52 | 1141513 Jay Gould Esq.
Jay Gould Esq.'s picture

+1

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 11:27 | 1141060 nah
nah's picture

they are going to wait for the 14yr olds to figure something out...

Wed, 04/06/2011 - 11:37 | 1141130 Piranhanoia
Piranhanoia's picture

Never going to get news from actors or politicians or on the tv.  Their union forbids it.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!