What's Next For The Euro? Two Contrasting Opinions From Goldman And Citi

Tyler Durden's picture




 
0
Your rating: None
 

- advertisements -

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:38 | 1411520 qussl3
qussl3's picture

Blah blah blah.

The dollar swap renewals just guaranteed that only rates matter.

Presuming respective CBs open liquidity windows for crap for their constituents.

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:57 | 1411583 TruthInSunshine
TruthInSunshine's picture

OT:

In the right column as of now (9:51 am est) is the RAN Squawk headline of the day:

Latest News From RAN Squawk

 

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:39 | 1411522 Paralympic Equity
Paralympic Equity's picture

All about EUR is old news, no we must protect that razor thin + above 1300, at all costs.

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:42 | 1411533 alien-IQ
alien-IQ's picture

The Euro will be joining the ranks of the Tally Stick in the history of currencies.

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:45 | 1411542 magpie
magpie's picture

Tally stick was around for more than 700 years...

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:43 | 1411540 TruthInSunshine
TruthInSunshine's picture

Ron Insana & Steve Liesman have just announced they have formed a research firm with cutting edge analysis of all market trends.

Insana-Lies man, LLP™ © ® provides accurate and comprehensive research for those depending on real time analysis and data in a complex and ever devolving financial environment[wasteland].

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:41 | 1411544 curbyourrisk
curbyourrisk's picture

Fuck the Euro

 

Fuck Goldman

 

Fuck Citi

 

Yeah, I know these comments do nothing for the markets...but I don't give a shit today.

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:50 | 1411560 Hugh G Rection
Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:42 | 1411546 Oh regional Indian
Oh regional Indian's picture

What is up for the Euro? Same thing that is up for every other asset class.

Manipulated volatility. Maximum wealth transfer. If anyone had called the last 6 or evven three months correctly based on some fundamentals, all this anal-y-sis might make sense.

Gut trading, gut-wrenching trading....

ORI

http://aadivaahan.wordpress.com/2011/06/28/thoughts-and-a-heads-up/

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:42 | 1411547 Hugh G Rection
Hugh G Rection's picture

Using this simple analysis to project ahead, it appears EUR/$ may soon continue its uptrend.

 

Thats all I need. Euro is fucked.

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:46 | 1411548 proLiberty
proLiberty's picture

Structure carries more weight over time than hope, ideology or spin.  The Euro is structured so the weaker states can encumber the monetary pool, which is exactly why the world is fixated on how Greece votes.  But no matter how Greece votes, the structure of the Euro monetary union still remains the same.  It is only a matter of time before we have the same fixation over a similar vote in another Euro country.  If we are having fits over Greece, what will it be like when that next vote is in a bigger economy?

 

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:51 | 1411575 TruthInSunshine
TruthInSunshine's picture

Greece is to the EU what New Hampshire is to the U.S.

Portugal is Iowa.

Spain is Illinois.

Italy is Florida.

The UK is New York State.

(Germany is California & France would be about equivalent, proportionately, to Texas)

 

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:47 | 1411552 huggy_in_london
huggy_in_london's picture

Why do they even want a high euro?  The ONLY ray of hope for someof these countries would come if the euro were 1.10 or something like that, then they just might have a chance.  

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:50 | 1411563 qussl3
qussl3's picture

They dont need a strong EUR, the ME and China need a strong EUR.

China especially.

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 11:02 | 1411782 boiltherich
boiltherich's picture

What the Bundesbank wants the Bundesbank gets, and Germany has a mortal fear of so much as a whiff of inflation, as dependent as it is upon imported energy it has to have a high euro to prevent structural inflation from getting established such as what we have had in the USA for the last few years.  For Merkel allowing any inflation would be akin to letting skinheads publicly fly swastikas.  It just will not be allowed.  Even in the current economic climate the ECB said yesterday that it is ready to raise rates, but even with the euro 1.50 or higher Germany would rather suffer declines in it's massive exports than to appear to accommodate higher prices. 

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 11:50 | 1412061 huggy_in_london
huggy_in_london's picture

It was a rhetorical question!  I get it .. they don't ... yes the germans want it, but how long before the other 270m or whatever it is europeans realise this joke.

 

And just so the arsehole who is junking everything in this room doesn't have the pleasure, I am junking myself!

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:49 | 1411557 Downtoolong
Downtoolong's picture

Two Contrasting Opinions From Goldman And Citi..

The headline is all I need or want to hear. One self proclaimed market expert countering the views of another, while both sport $4,000 worth of clothes, watches, jewelry, not to mention their 3,000 sq ft. townhome in on the Upper East Side and their Hampton summer home with a top of the line Mercedes in the garage. All paid for with fees, commissions, and tax dollars extorted from their clients. And, as always, the net value of these conflicting opinions to me is zero.  

Wed, 06/29/2011 - 09:59 | 1411603 Djirk
Djirk's picture

I used to be the correlation cruncher...then I was replaced by an algo...watch out there all you sell siders, dark pools are coming to eat your lunch

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!