The 17 Elements Of Martial Law

Submitted by Dave Hodges via The Common Sense Show blog,

The term “Martial Law” is thrown around with reckless disregard. "Is America under martial law?" is a question that is often discussed in the Independent Media.

Martial law occurs when the prevailing regime feels threatened by the message being offered by the loyal opposition. When normal means of censorship and marginalization fail, despotic regimes resort to martial law with all intended brutality of a violent crackdown on all of those being perceived as the “enemy”.

Seventeen Martial Law Characteristics

Most experts agree that hard core martial contains the following 17 essential elements:

1-Mass roundup and/or execution of political dissidents


2-Dusk to dawn curfews


3-Rationing of essential resources


4-The seizing of personal assets such as food and water


5-Control over all food and water


6-The prohibition of weapons of any kind including guns, knives or chemicals which can be turned into explosives


7-The confiscation of property, homes and businesses


8-Arrests without due process


9-Massive “papers please” checkpoints with intrusive searches


10-Forced relocation


11-Forced conscription into various labor camps and even into the military


12-Outlawing of free speech


13-The installation of massive surveillance programs and the establishment of snitch programs


14-The total control or elimination of religion


15-Control of the media


16-Executions without due process of law


17-Total suspension of the Constitution

Just how many of these intrusive government policies are in place in the following video?

From your personal observations, how many can you name?